“WORLD AIDS DAY”: Celebs Give Their “Last Tweet & Testament”…

Dec 1, 2010 | By:

DECEMBER 1 IS “WORLD AIDS DAY”

PLEASE GO GET TESTED!!!

Alicia tweeted:

“People might feel funny about the coffin images. But that’s the point! We r digitally dying so real people who r actually dying don’t have 2!”

“Keep A Child Alive” “Buy Life” is launching their “Digital Death” Campaign December 1, 2010-World Aids Day.  Celebs include Alicia, hubby Swizz Beatz, Diddy, Usher, Serena Williams, Jennifer Hudson, Justin Timberlake, Kim Kardashian, & more, who’ve all agreed to not tweet or get on Facebook until they’ve raised 1 million dollars for AIDS/HIV. Please make your donation  here>>>BUYLIFE.ORG.

Check out more photos & their “last tweet & testament” below>>>

“Tonight is the big night that we have all been “dying” for! It’s been such an incredible journey to bring to life (pun intended) this deeply unified campaign called BUY LIFE. We started with a great idea from an awesome agency called TBWA/Chiat/Day who convinced Leigh Blake (@leighkca) and myself that it would take a new way to engage as many people as possible to our cause: AIDS among the poor in Africa. We didnt need much convincing!! Our campaign began by taking pictures in these BUY LIFE T-shirts that have a bar code on them. How cool is it that you can scan someone’s T-shirt using WIMO or Stickybits http://buylife.org/index.php to donate to Keep a Child Alive?!? When you scan to donate, you’re literally buying life!

As if that’s not innovative enough, I’ve been anxiously anticipating what is going to happen tonight at midnight on World AIDS Day!!!!! All of us are surrendering our digital lives by stopping our Tweets and our Facebook posts. You might have seen the photos of all of the artists who are supporting this campaign in coffins, and making last Tweets and Testaments in order to stand in solidarity with the millions of people who have died or will die from a disease that is treatable. And in solidarity with the millions of Africans who die each year we’re asking all of you to help to buy our lives back.

Join us in making a statement by raising one million dollars to keep people alive. This is our generation’s way of taking a stand and making noise about an issue that deserves continual attention. If you were dying with no means to get the treatment that would keep you alive, wouldn’t you hope someone would listen; someone would help?

So let’s do that! Let’s be the change we all want to see. Let’s take what we do for fun and turn it into something meaningful. We’re so fly with all of our technology! :-) Big shout out to the greatest movement in the stratosphere: Keep a Child Alive (@keepachildalive)and all the artists who are “dying” so someone else can live.

Thank you!:

Kim Kardashian @kimkardashian
Jay Sean @jaysean
Ryan Seacrest @ryanseacrest
Swizz Beatz @therealswizzz
Serena Williams @serenawilliams
Usher @usherraymondIV
Jennifer Hudson @iamjhud
Buried Life @theburiedlife
Janelle Monae @janellemonae
Khloe Kardashian @khloekardashian
David LaChapelle @lachapelleland
Bronson Pelletier @sonofbrown
Kimberly Cole @kimberlycole1
Lady Gaga @ladygaga
Justin Timberlake @jtimberlake
Elijah Wood @woodelijah
P Diddy @iamdiddy
Daphne Guinness @therealdaphne

Let’s FLY!
Alicia”

Comments

comments

Share and Enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • LinkedIn
  • del.icio.us
  • Add to favorites

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a Comment

Before you submit - do you want an AVATAR image? Click HERE to visit Gravatar to create your FREE image associated with your email - then come back and comment in style!